Journalism in the public interest for Northeast Texas

NLISD names teachers of the year, recognizes dozens of others

in North Lamar ISD by

An appreciation banquet for North Lamar ISD employees was held Monday night to honor those who make a difference to students and co-workers throughout the year. Superintendent John McCullough and District administrators recognized employees for their years of service to the district, honored those retiring, and presented special awards to those who have gone above and beyond assisting students and colleagues.

Teachers of the Year

Kelly Moore, 8th Grade Language Arts, NLISD Secondary Teacher of the Year
Wendy Peek, 3rd Grade ELAR, NLISD Elementary Teacher of the Year

Announcing the 2017 North Lamar Teachers of the Year were Lisa Denman, last year’s Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Kenny Sanders, who stepped in for last year’s Secondary Teacher of the Year Dennis Hodgkiss, who was at the state UIL meet. Kelly Moore, eighth grade Language Arts teacher, was named Secondary Teacher of the Year while Wendy Peek, Aaron Parker Elementary third grade English and social studies teacher, was named Elementary Teacher of the Year. Nominees from all six campuses spoke about what teaching has meant to them. Others representing their campuses and who were interviewed for the district’s high honors were Angela Shannon at North Lamar High School, Brittany Moreland at Bailey Intermediate, Cathey Scheffel at Everett Elementary, and Penny Stutsman at Higgins Elementary.

Faculty & Special Awards

Recipients of the district’s special awards were: Maintenance Supervisor Tommy Funderburgfor Auxiliary of the Year; NLHS librarian Debbie Basden for Support Staff of the Year; Stone secretary Launa Doyal for Paraprofessional of the Year; and NLHS Resource English teacher Jacie Vaughn for Special Educator of the Year.

From left to right: Tommy Funderburg, NL Auxiliary of the Year (Retiring); Debbie Basden, NL Support Staff of the Year; Launa Doyal, NL Paraprofessional of the Year
NL Staff and Faculty retiring at the end of the 2016/2017 school year.


Retiring from the District are (beginning front row left) Larry Beall, Tommy Funderburg, Carol Sherwood and Drethia Parsons; second row, Claire Anderson, Roxan DeRosier, Duanna Ewell and Lesa Bulls; back row, Julie Green, Leslie Ewell, Billy Copeland and Robert George. Not pictured are Marilyn Elmighalajughi, Misty LeFlore, Pam McNabb, Paula McVay and Teresa Williams.

25 years and beyond

Long-time Stone Middle School educator, Science teacher Kenny Sanders stands with his appreciation pin after serving the North Lamar district for 50 years.

Honored and receiving pins for their years of service were: 50 years – Kenny Sanders; 40 years – Vivian Hicks; 30 years – Nancy Beall, Michelle Easton and Carol Newberry; 25 years –Ronnie Lester, Julie McNeece and Angie Pulsar; 20 years – Michelle Brazeal, Wendi Burton, Keith Carpenter, Christi Coe, Sara Hess, Kara Lane, Debbie Manjane, Jackie Moseley, Jeanne Self, Deborah Sherwood and Georgia Thompson.

15 years

Fifteen year pins were given to Lisa Archer, Shelly Bivens, Kristen Blanton, Loy Dean Clark, Jenny Davis, Dale Freeman, Kim Johnson, Glynese McNabb, Lindsey Miller, Debbie Moore, Patty Moss, Liz Russell, Kelli Stewart and Cheryl Thrasher.

10 years

Receiving 10 year pins were Janet Anderson, Tammy Crutcher, Roxan DeRosier, Jenny Dority, Wendi Fleming, Homer Garner, Miranda Hale, Lacey Jordan, Angelia Kennedy, Melissa LaVoy, Kerri Layton, Pat Mason, Cindy McCully, Renee Noble, Cynthia Pharis, Bailee Ray, Julie Romans, Doil Tingen and Celeste Withers.

5 years

Others receiving their 5 year pins were Patricia Arnold, Shawna Brown, Amy Chennault, Laura Christian, Carolyn Hiller, Angela Holdeman, Joel Hutchison, Josh Jordan, Stephen Keenum, Cynthia Koontz, Sherry Kuhl, Rebecca Liesman, Drew McKnight, Marlyn Moore, Lydia Nichols, Lindsay Owen, Rainey Parson, Bill Plumb, Johnnie Powell, Sierra Radford, Jared Reaves, Hailey Sharrock and Linda Tidwell.

Latest from North Lamar ISD

Go to Top