Journalism in the public interest for Northeast Texas

Candidates file for city council, deadline is 5 p.m. Friday

in City of Paris by

Paris City Council seats for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 6 are up for grabs this year. As of today, eight citizens have filed to run for those seats in the city’s election in May. A map of the city’s districts can be found here.

Councilmembers Aaron Jenkins of District 1, and Sue Lancaster of District 2, have reached their term limits– three consecutive two-year terms. Incumbents Billy Trenado of District 3, and Cleonne Holmes Drake of District 6, have filed for reelection.

District 1 is the only race that is– thus far– uncontested. The deadline for filing to run for city council is this Friday, February 16 at 5 p.m.

A full list of those who have filed is included below.

District 1:

Shandra “Renae” Stone

District 2:

Don McKnight
Derrick Hughes
Ed Darnell

District 3:

Billy Trenado (Incumbent)
Jane Helberg

District 6:

Cleonne Holmes Drake (Incumbent)
Patrick “Clayton” Pilgrim


Colton is the founder of Paris Free Press. He was born and raised in Paris, Texas, graduated from North Lamar ISD and Paris Junior College with an Associate Degree. He lives in Lamar County with his loving girlfriend and their three dogs and two cats. He has once been uncredited in The Paris News.

Latest from City of Paris

Go to Top